CSU gives its first GGFBH Award

< >

Caraga State University on its university day celebration and commemoration of Proclamation No. 4 launched and awarded the first Governor General Francis Burton Harrison Achievement Award on February 14, 2017 at the Sanchez Gymnasium of CSU. The launching and awarding were done after the State of the University Address (SUnA) of CSU President Anthony M. Penaso.

Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Rolando N. Paluga laid down the rationale of the GGFBH Achievement Award. The GGFBH Achievement Award is awarded to CSU constituents and stakeholders who have demonstrated exemplary achievement in their field or discipline.

The award is named after Governor General Francis Burton Harrison (1913-1921) who declared the reservation of the 232 hectares virgin forest land in Barrio Ampayon, Municipality of Butuan, Agusan del Norte for School purposes and the grounds of a young school which is now known as Caraga State University. Governor General Francis Burton Harrison signed Proclamation No. 4 on February 14, 1920. Governor General Francis Burton Harrison lived advocating the transfer of authority to the Filipinos in the United States territory to better prepare the Filipinos for Independence. His pro-Filipino stance made him a popular figure in the Philippines.

This year, the GGFBH Achievement Award is given to eight Outstanding Alumni based on the following criteria: The nominee must exemplify the CSU Core Values of Competence, Service and Uprightness; has practiced excellence in his\her field or discipline; has demonstrated commitment and dedication to the service of the humanity; has manifested leadership and influence in the practice of his/her profession; and has embodied the ideals of CSU. The nominee must be a graduate of any of the high school and college of both campuses. Nomination must come with extensive Curriculum Vitae of the nominee along with a 2x2 coloured photo and other supporting documents.

This year’s GGFBH awardees were: Engr.  Arnel B. Alipao in the field of Community Service, Dr. Arsenio T. Cornites in the field of Education, Mr. Rogelio B. Cultura in the field of Broadcast Journalism and Public Service, Dr. Flordelisa R. Dalin in the field of Education, Judge Marigel D. Hugo in the field of Law and Governance, Dr. Lorenzo O. Macasocol in the field of Education, Mr. Agapito T. Patubo in the field of Environment and Natural Resources, and Mr. Nilo Y. Villamor in the field of Agricultural Technology. The awardees were presented by the Public Information, Alumni and External Affairs Director Sonia R. Low.

CSU President Anthony M. Penaso with the three Vice Presidents gave the awards to the eight Outstanding Alumni. Vice President for Research and Extension, Dr. Rowena P. Varela who is also the Convocation Officer of the Day did the Closing Statement while the Vice President for Administration and University Board Secretary Dr. Armie Leila M. Mordeno did the Opening Statement. Ms. Karen B. Burdeos acted as the emcee of the said event. The event was also attended by some members of the CSU Board of Regents, Ms. Concepcion C. Asis BOR Senate representative, Faculty Regent, Dr. Erico G. Alan, Student Regent, Ms. Deborah Jael L. Herrera, former CSU President, Dr. Joanna B. Cuenca, former CSU-CC Campus Director, Dr. Lolita P. Margañas, CSU First Lady, Madam Abigail Noemis T. Penaso and other stakeholders. piaea

News Category: 


+63 (085) 341 2296 loc. 231


+63 (085) 341 2786 loc. 232


+63 (085) 341 2867 loc. 25

Get in touch with us







Philippine Standard Time

Transparency Seal

Freedom Of Information

Caraga State University
Design by ICT Center.