CSU President Daguil with TTLO and Navigatu hold together at TBI Summit

< >
CSU President Daguil with TTLO and Navigatu hold together at TBI SummitCSU President Daguil with TTLO and Navigatu hold together at TBI Summit
CSU President Daguil with TTLO and Navigatu hold together at TBI SummitCSU President Daguil with TTLO and Navigatu hold together at TBI Summit

Caraga State University President, Dr. Rollyn C. Daguil and Engr. Jeffrey T. Dellosa remain united as they joined the 6th Technology Business Incubator (TBI) Summit in Fort Bonifacio, Taguig, Manila, spearheaded by DOST-PCIEERD. Dr. Rolyn C. Daguil led the establishment of the Navigatu with Engr. Dellosa in 2018. The intent was to promote innovation, research, and development (R&D)-based technology commercialization, entrepreneurial & startup mindset among students and faculty members in the University.

Dr. Daguil and his team met with DOST PCIEERD Executive Director Dr. Enrico C. Paringit on the sidelines. Present in the meeting was Engr. Noel M. Ajoc, DOST Caraga Regional Director, Ms. Russell M. Pili, DOST PCIEERD's Research, Information, and Technology Transfer Division (RITTD) Chief Technology Transfer Officer, Engr. Dellosa and Mr. Melbert R. Bonotan, manager of CSU Navigatu.

Dr. Daguil, as an active researcher at CSU, often met with Dr. Paringit in research proposal presentations in DOST PCIEERD with the former's various research projects. Dr. Daguil presently leads the DOST NICER Program called SUMMO. Dr. Paringit and Dr. Daguil discussed various topics, mainly on value-adding and commercially viable R&D projects and initiatives, much stronger industry engagements, and technology commercialization of generated technologies from the R&D outputs, which can be launched as future startups or spinoffs of the university. Dr. Paringit shared thoughts on how to better engage in the industry.

The occasion highlights the gathering of the Philippine startup ecosystem stakeholders, including the technology business incubators, startups, various government agencies, select industries, and the HEIs with existing and upcoming TBIs through the Higher Education Institution Readiness for Innovation and Technopreneurship (HEIRIT) 2.0 Program.

The participants were welcomed by Dr. Renato U. Solidum, Jr., Secretary of the DOST, Dr. Paringit, the DOST PCIEERD Executive Director, then shared updates on the DOST’s various startup development programs: (1) the Startup Grant Fund (SGF) Program; (2) Women-Helping-Women: Innovating Social Enterprise (WHWise) Program; (3) TBI 4.0 Program; and (4) the HEIRIT Program.

Dr. Paringit’s report was followed by keynote messages and presentations by Mr. Prim Paypon, Executive Director of the Asian Institute of Management – Dado Banatao Incubator (AIM-DBI), and Mr. Alfred Gersava, Co-Founder of Virtualahan. Engr. Edward Paul Apigo, DOST RITTD’s senior science research specialist, moderated the panel discussion with crucial startup founders or co-founders, namely Mr. Nel Laygo of Peddlr, Mr. Neil Clyde Kho of The Green Table, Ms. Wilvie Añora of AtoANI, and Ms. Noreen Bautista of Panublix.

The launching of the HEIRIT Program and the signing of the Memorandum of Agreement served as the main highlight of the TBI Summit with new fifteen (15) HEIs, the first batch to receive funding support from DOST-PCIEERD under the HEIRIT 2.0 Program. CSU is no longer part of the HEIRIT Program as its TBI was launched way ahead of the establishment of the first HEIRIT Program. CSU's TBI is part of the first generation TBI with the University of the Philippines (UP) Diliman, UP Visayas, UP Los Banos, and Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT) among the other 14 early TBIs.

The launching and MOA signing of the 15 HEIs under the HEIRIT 2.0 Program was spearheaded by RITTD's Chief, Ms. Russell Pili. They were among the 27 HEIs undergoing the HIHEIRIT PA MORE! Program. All 27 HEIs signed a Memorandum of Understanding to continue the 2-year Program.

Chancellor Vicente Antonio Pijano III of the Philippine Women's College then shared a message to all university heads to support establishing each TBI. Mariano Marcos State University President Dr. Shirley Agrupis and Bohol Island State University (BISU) President Dr. Anthony Penaso (former CSU President) shared their insights and appreciation as one of the first 15 universities of the HEIRIT2.0 Program. DOST-PCIEERD Deputy Executive Director Engr. Niñaliza Escorial was thankful for the support of the partners and the presence of the University Presidents and DOST Regional Directors. TTLO/PICO

News Category: 


09177078764 loc. 231


09177078713 loc. 232


09177078769 loc. 252

Course Particulars

College of Engineering and Geo-Sciences

College of Agricultural and Agri-Industries

College of Mathematics and Natural Sciences

College of Forestry and Environmental Sciences

College of Computing and Information Sciences

College of Education

Get in touch with us



CSU PAB Certification




Philippine Standard Time

Transparency Seal

Freedom Of Information

FOI Logo 
Caraga State University
Design by ICT Center.